You are here

GCSE Options

These are courses in traditional school subjects and most of the Key Stage 4 curriculum is assessed through the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE). The qualification mainly involves studying the theory of a subject, combined with some investigative work. Some subjects also involve practical work.

GCSEs are at Levels 1 and 2 on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) depending on the grade students achieve.

  • Grades D - G:  Level 1
  • Grades A* - C: Level 2

For some subjects, everyone sits the same exam. For other subjects, there is a choice of two tiers ‘higher’ or ‘foundation'. Each tier leads to a different range of grades. Subject teachers normally decide which tier is best for each student.With GCSEs, students are assessed mainly on written exams plus elements of coursework and controlled assessment that they complete throughout Years 9, 10 and 11. Coursework can include projects, fieldwork, artwork, experiments or investigations.

Attleborough Academy Norfolk will offer the following GCSE options from September 2013:

  • Art and Design
  • Business Studies
  • Citizenship
  • Computer Science
  • Drama
  • Food Preparation and Nutrition
  • Geography
  • Graphic Products
  • History
  • Modern Languages
  • Music
  • PE
  • Product Design
  • Religious Studies
  • BTEC Level 1/2 Peforming Arts:  Dance
  • BTEC Level 1/2 First Award in Sport

View the 2016 options guide >